The short answer

Australian party policies on healthcare compared

The five parties' healthcare positions range from enacted Medicare expansion (Labor) and a proposal to extend Medicare to dental and mental health (Greens), to dated election commitments without 2026 reaffirmation (Liberals' $9 billion Medicare pledge), to a regional workforce proposal (One Nation's HECS-HELP contracts) and no stated 2026 position (Nationals). This comparison records stated positions only; party claims about health outcomes, access and costs are attributions and have not been independently verified.

This guide uses public electoral and parliamentary records. A party or candidate statement establishes what that actor says; it does not independently establish that the statement is true.

The useful question is not only “what is the rule?” but also “who administers it, which document controls it, and when might it change?” That distinction prevents an accurate general explanation from becoming wrong advice in a particular election, chamber or policy setting.

Evidence review

What is proposed

The Australian Labor Party states it proposes strengthening Medicare through the tripled bulk billing incentive, 87 Medicare Urgent Care Clinics (announced 17 June 2026), 60-day prescriptions, and PBS co-payment reductions. The party's Stronger Medicare page states that 'getting healthcare shouldn't depend on what's in your bank account.' Labor's 12 May 2026 Budget describes these as current measures within enacted government policy. The party also states it requires 24/7 registered nurses in residential aged care.

The Liberal Party announced on 23 February 2025 that the Coalition would invest $9 billion into Medicare. This announcement dates from the 2025 election campaign by then-Leader Peter Dutton and should be read in that electoral context. The party's 2026 source pages — the 14 May 2026 Coalition Plan and 9 July 2026 Sydney Institute Address — do not contain a reaffirmation of the $9 billion commitment or a current health policy. The National Party does not state a 2026 healthcare policy in its reviewed sources. Its 2025 election document describes a regional GP shortage but does not specify a proposed remedy.

The Greens state on their health page that they propose extending Medicare to cover dental, mental health, and assessments for ADHD and autism. The party's 16 July 2026 media release opposes NDIS cuts and states 145,000 autistic people may lose supports. One Nation states it proposes better regional medical services through three-year contracts for newly qualified health professionals, with HECS-HELP loans paid in return, and lists healthcare cost reductions as a goal.

Labor's 1 July 2026 announcement page states that from that date patients can access two months' supply of certain PBS medicines for the price of one month, which the party describes as halving the cost of many common medicines. The Liberal Party's $9 billion Medicare commitment was announced on 23 February 2025 by then-Leader Peter Dutton and Senator Anne Ruston, during the 2025 election campaign. The National Party's 2025 election document of 2 May 2025 states that access to country GPs has declined but does not specify a 2026 health remedy. The Greens' health page of 23 July 2025 proposes expanding Medicare; the party has not updated this position in a 2026-specific health document. One Nation's health page does not carry a publication date.

Labor's 1 July 2026 announcement provides the most recent dated health policy statement among the reviewed sources. The Greens published their health page on 23 July 2025. The Nationals' 2025 election document was published on 2 May 2025.

The Liberal Party stated in its February 2025 announcement that the Coalition would invest $9 billion into Medicare. The Nationals argued in their 2025 election document that access to country GPs had become harder. The Greens say expanding Medicare to cover dental and mental health is a priority.

Liberal states in its 2025 Medicare announcement that the Coalition would invest $9 billion into Medicare, though this statement dates from the election campaign.

Evidence review

What mechanism is stated

Labor states its healthcare mechanisms are Medicare Benefits Schedule changes (bulk billing incentive), legislative funding for Urgent Care Clinics, Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme regulatory changes (60-day prescriptions, co-payment reductions), and aged care legislation requiring registered nurses. These are described as enacted measures. The Liberal Party does not state a current 2026 health delivery mechanism. Its 2025 $9 billion Medicare announcement was made as an election commitment and does not describe legislative instruments or Budget appropriations in the reviewed page.

The Nationals' 2025 election document describes healthcare access problems without stating a delivery mechanism. The Greens state their mechanism is Senate negotiation to expand Medicare — the party says 'Greens pressure works' and that it has already pushed Labor on GP fees. The Greens propose legislative reform to add services to Medicare. One Nation states its mechanism is contractual: three-year service contracts for health professionals with HECS-HELP repayment as the incentive. The party does not specify contract terms, enforcement, or the legal basis for the scheme.

Evidence review

What is costed or quantified

Labor states the tripled bulk billing incentive is the 'largest investment in bulk billing in Medicare's history' but the party does not specify the total dollar value on its main policy pages. The party says 87 Medicare Urgent Care Clinics are operational but does not specify the total program cost. The PBS co-payment reduction cost is included in Budget appropriations but not itemised on Labor's policy pages.

The Liberal Party's $9 billion Medicare announcement does not state the period over which the investment would be made, the funding source, or whether the figure has been independently costed by the Parliamentary Budget Office. The Greens do not specify the cost of adding dental and mental health to Medicare. One Nation does not specify the cost of its HECS-HELP contract scheme or the expected number of participants. The Nationals do not quantify any healthcare proposal.

The Liberal Party does not state in 2026 sources whether the $9 billion figure remains current or has been independently costed. The Nationals do not quantify any healthcare commitment. The Greens do not cost dental and mental health expansion in the reviewed sources. One Nation does not quantify the cost of HECS-HELP repayment for health professionals or estimate the number of participants.

Evidence review

What is current law or government action

The tripled bulk billing incentive took effect from 1 November 2023 under the Medicare Benefits Schedule. The 60-day prescription changes are current law under the National Health Act 1953 and associated PBS regulations. Medicare Urgent Care Clinics are operating as government-funded services under arrangements with Primary Health Networks. The aged care registered nurse requirement is current law under the Aged Care Act 1997. These references are through party sources; OzPolitics has not independently verified the operational status of every clinic.

The Liberal Party's $9 billion commitment is not current law and was made as an opposition election promise in February 2025. The Coalition Plan of 14 May 2026 does not propose specific healthcare legislation. The Nationals have not proposed current healthcare legislation in reviewed sources. The Greens' Medicare expansion proposal is not current law. One Nation's HECS-HELP contract proposal is not current law and does not have legislative backing in the reviewed sources.

The Greens does not specify in the reviewed pages whether it supports the current bulk billing incentive, the 60-day prescription changes, or the Medicare Urgent Care Clinics. The Liberal Party has not specified whether its February 2025 $9 billion Medicare commitment remains current policy in 2026. The Nationals does not specify a healthcare policy position for 2026 in any reviewed source.

Evidence review

What remains unspecified or unverified

Labor does not specify what proportion of GP clinics now bulk bill all patients versus concession card holders only, the projected fiscal impact of the bulk billing incentive beyond forward estimates, or a timeline for universal dental coverage in Medicare. The party's healthcare pages do not address mental health access specifically beyond the general Medicare strengthening narrative. The Liberal Party's healthcare position for 2026 is not specified in its reviewed source pages — the party does not state whether the $9 billion Medicare commitment is current policy, leaving a significant gap.

The Nationals do not specify a 2026 healthcare position. The Greens do not cost dental and mental health in Medicare, specify an implementation timeline, or state their position on bulk billing incentives, Urgent Care Clinics, or the PBS changes. One Nation does not specify the number of HECS-HELP contracts it would offer, enforcement of the three-year requirement, or funding for the scheme. The party lists 'healthcare cost reductions' without specifying which costs, how they would be reduced, or whether they relate to Medicare, the PBS, private health insurance, or hospitals.

Labor does not specify what proportion of GP clinics bulk bill all patients versus concession card holders only, and does not state a timeline for achieving universal dental coverage. The Liberal Party does not state whether the $9 billion Medicare commitment of 23 February 2025 remains party policy — a significant specification gap. The Nationals do not specify any 2026 health position on Medicare, PBS, aged care or mental health. The Greens do not state a position on the 60-day prescription changes or the Medicare Urgent Care Clinics in the reviewed pages. One Nation does not specify the number of contracts it would offer, the mechanism for enforcing the three-year rural service, or the funding source for HECS-HELP repayment.

Liberal does not specify whether the $9 billion Medicare commitment from February 2025 remains current party policy for 2026, leaving a significant healthcare specification gap. The Greens does not specify a position on the 60-day prescription changes, the Medicare Urgent Care Clinics program, or the tripled bulk billing incentive in the reviewed source pages. The National Party does not specify any healthcare policy for 2026, including positions on Medicare, PBS, aged care, mental health or dental care.

Common questions

Before you rely on the answer

Does the Liberal Party still support the $9 billion Medicare commitment?

The commitment was announced on 23 February 2025 during the 2025 election campaign. The Liberal Party does not state in its 2026 source pages whether this commitment has been reaffirmed, re-costed or updated.

Which party proposes dental in Medicare?

The Greens state they would extend Medicare to cover dental care. Labor does not propose dental in Medicare in its reviewed source pages. The Liberals, Nationals and One Nation do not address dental care in their reviewed pages.

What is One Nation's health workforce proposal?

One Nation states it would offer three-year contracts to newly qualified medical professionals with HECS-HELP loan repayment in return for regional service. The party does not specify contract numbers, funding, or enforcement.

Source spine

Primary material used for this guide

Review trigger: Any new health policy from the parties — particularly Liberal reaffirmation or replacement of the $9 billion Medicare commitment, Greens costed healthcare plan, or legislative change to Medicare.

Archive note: This comparison records each party's stated healthcare positions as published on its official website, checked on 17 July 2026. Party sources establish attributed positions, not independent proof of factual claims. The Liberal Party's 23 February 2025 Medicare commitment is preserved with its original date and election context.

Primary links are provided without affiliate or tracking parameters. Confirm that the source still applies to the bill, sitting date, jurisdiction or reporting period before relying on it.