The short answer

Australian Labor Party policies and positions in 2026

The Australian Labor Party states its 2026 positions through the May 2026 Budget, the 1 July 2026 national changes, and official policy pages covering cost of living, housing, Medicare, education and building Australia's future. Labor presents itself as a governing party delivering enacted measures, not merely proposing them. Every position cited here is attributed to Labor's published statements and does not constitute independent verification of claimed outcomes.

This guide uses public electoral and parliamentary records. A party or candidate statement establishes what that actor says; it does not independently establish that the statement is true.

The useful question is not only “what is the rule?” but also “who administers it, which document controls it, and when might it change?” That distinction prevents an accurate general explanation from becoming wrong advice in a particular election, chamber or policy setting.

Evidence review

Housing

The Australian Labor Party states that it is working to make home ownership possible for Australians who work hard and save. On its 'A fair go at your own home' policy page, the party says it is delivering the Help to Buy shared equity scheme, which it describes as allowing eligible home buyers to purchase a property with a smaller deposit and lower mortgage repayments by co-purchasing with the government. Labor also states it is building more homes through the Housing Australia Future Fund, a $10 billion investment vehicle that the party says will support 30,000 new social and affordable homes over its first five years.

The May 2026 Budget, announced on 12 May 2026, describes additional investment for housing supply. The party proposes that Budget measures will accelerate the delivery of new housing through planning reforms and infrastructure investment. Labor's 'Building Australia's future' page states that the party is investing in the construction workforce to address skills shortages that constrain housing supply. The party does not specify precise completion timelines for all committed homes, and the extent to which state and local government planning decisions will affect delivery is not addressed in available Labor sources.

On the rental market, Labor's 'Help with the cost of living' page states that the party has increased Commonwealth Rent Assistance, which it describes as the largest increase in 30 years. The party does not specify whether further rent assistance adjustments are planned beyond the current Budget cycle. Labor has not proposed rent caps or rental market regulation in the reviewed sources; its housing approach focuses on supply expansion and first-home-buyer assistance rather than rental market intervention.

A 12 August 2026 media release by Clare O'Neil, Minister for Housing and Homelessness, and Tanya Plibersek, Minister for Social Services, announces that more than 22,000 women and children will have access to housing through $308 million supporting 448 new homes. The party says this funding, from the Housing Australia Future Fund, is dedicated to crisis and transitional housing projects and forms part of Labor's commitment to over $1.2 billion in crisis and transitional housing investment and 55,000 social and affordable homes. The release states that construction is starting on thirty new homes in Yarralumla (ACT) on the site of the former Minimbah Court public housing complex, and that 7,200 social and affordable homes have been delivered since the party took office with another 23,000 in planning or construction. State and territory breakdowns in the release include NSW ($139.1 million, 202 homes across 22 projects), Victoria ($75.4 million, 113 homes across 24 projects), Tasmania ($15.7 million, 37 homes across 15 projects), Queensland ($14.5 million, 24 homes across five projects), Western Australia ($22 million, 20 homes across three projects), South Australia ($12.6 million, 18 homes across three projects) and the Northern Territory ($12 million, 15 homes across two projects). These figures are the party's claims as published on its website and have not been independently verified by OzPolitics; Housing Australia administers the Housing Australia Future Fund and publishes program information separately.

Evidence review

Tax and cost of living

Labor's May 2026 Budget, announced by Prime Minister Anthony Albanese and Treasurer Jim Chalmers on 12 May 2026, states that the government delivered a tax cut for every Australian taxpayer from 1 July 2024, which the party says is providing cost-of-living relief. The Budget describes energy bill relief, cheaper medicines, and increased Commonwealth Rent Assistance as measures now in effect. On its 'Help with the cost of living' page, the party says it is providing cheaper child care, fee-free TAFE, and bulk billing incentives for GPs.

The 1 July 2026 announcement page ('Delivering real change for Australians on July 1') states that from that date Australians receive a further round of energy bill relief payments and expanded access to cheaper medicines through the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme. The party also states that pension and payment indexation took effect on that date. The Budget documentation describes a surplus for the 2025-26 financial year, which the party says provides a buffer against global economic uncertainty. Labor does not specify on which future date or under what conditions the energy bill relief payments will end.

On tax reform, the party's June 2026 Tax reform bill announcement states that Parliament has passed the first bill of the Albanese Government's tax reform package. Labor says these changes tighten multinational tax avoidance and provide support for small business. The party does not provide accessible modelling of the distributional effects of the tax changes by income quintile in the reviewed source pages. The cost-of-living measures are described by the party as temporary relief within the current Budget forward estimates; Labor does not specify a structural replacement for these measures on their expiration.

Evidence review

Climate and energy

Labor's 'What we're working on' page states that the party is investing in renewable energy and that its plan includes making Australia a renewable energy superpower. The 'Building Australia's future' page states that the party is delivering cheaper and cleaner energy through investment in solar, wind and transmission infrastructure. The party says its Rewiring the Nation program is funding new transmission lines to connect renewable energy zones.

The May 2026 Budget, announced on 12 May 2026, includes energy bill relief as part of its cost-of-living measures. Labor states that the energy bill relief payments help households while renewable energy investment reduces long-term power costs. The party has set emissions reduction targets legislated through the Climate Change Act 2022, including a 43 per cent reduction on 2005 levels by 2030, and net zero by 2050. The Budget does not separately cost the total required investment to meet the 2030 target, and Labor does not specify on its reviewed pages when or by what mechanism it expects electricity prices to fall below 2024 levels.

The party states it approved new offshore wind zones and is supporting the development of the hydrogen industry. Labor's energy policy pages do not address the future role of gas in dispatchable power generation beyond noting the importance of firming capacity for renewables. The party does not specify a date for the closure of the last coal-fired power station, deferring to existing operator announcements and state-level energy plans.

A July 2026 Labor media release states that 'over 26,000 new energy apprenticeships' have been created for Australia's growing clean energy industries. The party says these apprenticeships are part of Labor's plan to train the workforce needed for the renewable energy transition and that they represent a pipeline of skilled workers for solar, wind, transmission and hydrogen projects. Labor states the apprenticeships are linked to its 'Building Australia's future' agenda and the Rewiring the Nation program. The party does not specify in this release the geographic distribution of apprenticeships, the completion rate for clean energy apprentices, or whether 26,000 represents total commencements, current in-training numbers, or projected completions.

Evidence review

Healthcare

The Australian Labor Party's 'Stronger Medicare and aged care' page states that the party has made it easier and cheaper to see a doctor by tripling the bulk billing incentive, which it says is the largest investment in bulk billing in Medicare's history. The party says this means more Australians can see a GP without paying a gap fee. On 17 June 2026, Labor announced that 'the Albanese Government delivers all Medicare Urgent Care Clinics promised', stating that 87 Medicare Urgent Care Clinics are now operational across Australia.

The May 2026 Budget, as described on the party's Budget page, includes measures to strengthen Medicare, with the party stating it is delivering cheaper medicines through 60-day prescriptions and Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme co-payment reductions. The 1 July 2026 announcement states that from that date patients can access two months' supply of certain PBS medicines for the price of one month, which the party describes as halving the cost of many common medicines. Labor says it is investing in aged care with a requirement for registered nurses on site in residential aged care facilities 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

The party does not specify on its reviewed pages the projected fiscal impact of the bulk billing incentive beyond the forward estimates, and does not provide data on what proportion of GP clinics now offer bulk billing for all patients versus concession card holders only. Labor's policy pages do not address dental care access through Medicare, and the party does not specify a timeline for universal dental coverage.

A 22 July 2026 Labor media release states that the Albanese Labor Government is expanding paid prac to strengthen Medicare. The party says this initiative will provide nursing, midwifery, and allied health students with financial support during mandatory clinical placements, which the party describes as 'removing barriers for students who might otherwise drop out due to financial pressure.' Labor states the expansion will deliver more health professionals into the system and help address workforce shortages. The party describes this as part of its ongoing Medicare strengthening agenda alongside the bulk billing incentive, Urgent Care Clinics, and 60-day prescriptions. The party does not specify in this release the total number of placements funded, the cost of the expansion, or the projected increase in the health workforce attributable to the measure.

A 10 August 2026 Labor media release by Mark Butler, Minister for Health and Ageing, states that the national bulk billing rate for the June 2026 quarter rose to 84.1 per cent, up almost five percentage points on the same quarter a year earlier, and that before the government's bulk billing investments the rate had fallen to 75.6 per cent. The release states that bulk billing increased in every state and territory, with the largest rise in the Northern Territory (up 13 percentage points to 90.8 per cent), and that the rate for patients aged 16 to 64 grew most quickly, up 8.2 percentage points to 78.6 per cent. It says there are now more than 3,800 Medicare Bulk Billing Practices, more than 1,400 of which were previously mixed billing practices. These figures are the party's claims as published on its website and have not been independently verified by OzPolitics; the Department of Health, Disability and Ageing publishes quarterly Medicare statistics and a bulk billing dashboard separately on its website.

Evidence review

Migration

Labor's 'Opportunities for Australians' page states that the party is building a skilled workforce through training and migration that is 'well-managed and fair'. The 'Building Australia's future' page states that the party is investing in education and skills, including fee-free TAFE places, to reduce reliance on skilled migration to fill workforce gaps. The Budget 2026 document, as referenced on the party's Budget page of 12 May 2026, describes a migration program focused on skilled permanent migration.

The party does not publish a standalone migration policy page among the reviewed sources. On the 'What we're working on' page, the party's discussion of migration is embedded within the broader economic and skills narrative. Labor states that net overseas migration has moderated from post-pandemic highs and that the government's migration strategy aims to return migration to sustainable levels. The party does not specify a numerical target for the permanent migration program beyond the current planning level.

The 1 July 2026 announcement page does not include migration-specific measures. Labor does not address temporary migration reform or international student policy settings on its reviewed policy pages. The party's sources do not specify how the skilled migration program interacts with state and territory nomination allocations, or what proportion of the permanent intake is allocated to regional areas.

Common questions

Before you rely on the answer

Is Labor's housing policy focused on home buyers or renters?

Labor's reviewed sources focus primarily on home buyers through shared equity and supply measures. The party states it has increased Commonwealth Rent Assistance but the party does not specify proposals for rent caps or broader rental market regulation in the pages reviewed.

Has Labor's tax reform package been enacted?

The party's June 2026 announcement states that the first bill of its tax reform package has passed Parliament. This is described by the party as a current enactment, not a future proposal. Subsequent tranches are not detailed in the reviewed sources.

How does Labor fund its cost-of-living measures?

The party states its cost-of-living measures are funded through the May 2026 Budget, which it describes as being in surplus for 2025-26. Labor does not provide a line-item breakdown linking specific revenue measures to each cost-of-living payment in the pages reviewed.

What is Labor's paid prac expansion for health students?

Labor's 22 July 2026 announcement states it is expanding financial support for nursing, midwifery and allied health students during mandatory clinical placements, which the party says will help address health workforce shortages. The party does not specify total funded placements or projected workforce impacts in this release.

Source spine

Primary material used for this guide

Review trigger: Labor's 12 August 2026 crisis housing announcement (new stated position on housing delivery, changed_field: party-published-position) was added to the housing section. Any subsequent Budget, election platform release, or material change to legislated housing, emissions targets or Medicare arrangements would require re-review.

Archive note: This article records the Australian Labor Party's stated positions as published on its official website and in official Budget and ministerial announcements, checked on 13 August 2026. All positions are attributed to the party; the party source establishes an attributed position, not independent proof of every factual claim. Where the party makes claims about outcomes or costs, those claims are reported as the party's assertions and have not been independently verified by OzPolitics. The 12 August 2026 crisis housing figures are reported as party claims; Housing Australia is cited only to identify the administrator of the Housing Australia Future Fund.

Primary links are provided without affiliate or tracking parameters. Confirm that the source still applies to the bill, sitting date, jurisdiction or reporting period before relying on it.